How We Remember

J.M. Monaco


 


Sep 13, 2018

£8.99


Red Door Price £7.99


Or from these retailers...

'What a heartbreaker! A deeply assured, soulful and savage portrayal of family life and secrets. This book gets under your skin - and stays there’ Emma Jane Unsworth
How We Remember drew me in with its vividly drawn characters right from the beginning. Unsettling, honest and thought-provoking’ Joanne Burn
‘Monaco evokes time and place in a manner that is wholly engaging; she tells an engrossing story about the truth about coming to terms with the past, and the feel of this stays after the final page’ Ruth Figgest

Family Secrets. Sibling Rivalries

The blood ties that have kept Jo and her brother Dave together are challenged when an unexpected inheritance fans the flames of underlying tensions. Upon discovering her mother’s diary, the details of their family’s troubled past are brought into sharp relief and painful memories are reawakened.

Narrated with moments of light and dark, J. M. Monaco weaves together past and present, creating a complex family portrait of pain and denial in this remarkable debut novel.

Perfect for fans of Anne Tyler and Sylvia Brownrigg, this is a novel that will stay with you long after you stop turning the pages.

  • Rights available: World/all languages.
  • To enquire about rights available for this title, please contact us.

About the author

JM Monaco

J.M. Monaco grew up in the northeast region of the USA where she studied English and Creative Writing at undergraduate level. She worked in a variety of areas before taking up postgraduate studies in England where she completed her PhD. She now lives in a buzzing city in the South West of England with her husband and children.

Scroll to top